A CAPR Legislative Action Alert UPDATE!


Citizens' Alliance for Property Rights Defending and restoring property rights since 2003

 Stop the Phony Water Crisis!

A CAPR Legislative Action Alert!



The Senate has intoduced SB 6091, and has it Scheduled for public hearing in the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Water, Natural Resources & Parks at 1:30 PM on January 8.

We continue with our plans below, please also take time to stay for the hearing and testify.  If you can't come to Olympia, please email and call your legislator about SB 6091, it is essentially what was heard on the December 12 hearing.  Citizens deserve and want a better Hirst Correction! CAPR will testify!


Other bills need your support!

HB 2300

to protect those already ruined by the spotted owl from more ruin under Marbled Murrelet Habitat Plans.


HB 2420

To protect private property owners from over-reach and open ended easements when government involves itself in your septic system.

A message from COOMWA about HB 2420


House Bill 2420 is our new proposed State legislation to protect owners of septic systems (Onsite Sewer Systems-OSS).   http://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2420&Year=2018

We continue to fight for:

Repair vs Replacement

No easement on our property without proper notice

No private monitoring contracts before permitting

HB2420  will be heard by the House Environment Committee on Thursday morning, January 11th.   Members of the Committee need to hear from you!  Contact your own elected officials as well.  Let them know that owning a septic system does not mean you should give up your rights!  

When you email or call, provide the Bill Number (HB2420) and say you clearly “support passing the bill out of committee”.

Your input must be made prior to the committee hearing on Thursday.  

COOMWA will continue to alert you to our progress.

House Committee on Environment

Joe Fitzgibbon, Chair (D-34) joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov, Phone: 360-786-7952

Strom Peterson, (D-21), strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov, 7950

Matt,Shea, (R-4), matt.shea@leg.wa.gov, 7984

Mary Dye (R-9), mary.dye@leg.wa.gov, 7942

Jake Fey (D-27), jake.fey@leg.wa.gov, 7974

Ruth Kagi (D-32) ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov, 7910

Joan McBride (D-48), joan.mcbride@leg.wa.gov, 7848

David Taylor (R-15), david.taylor@leg.wa.gov, 7874

Thank you to our sponsors

Mark Hargove (R-47), mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov, Phone: 360-786-7918

Pat Sullivan (D-47), pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov,


Hearing from voters makes a difference.  

Thank you so very much!   

On Opening day of session, January 8th, CAPR’s lobbyist and members will be at the rotunda of the legislative capitol dome building at 9:30 am to support you and give you lapel stickers and flyers to give to your legislators.  We will then at 10:30 am begin to visit offices of legislators and suggest you do the same.  Join us!  Your like-minded legislators need your support in their efforts to restore and protect traditional water law and exempt wells.

CAPR will not stand down on Hirst without a legislative explanation of how a bill that directly conflicts with traditional long-standing water law and the state constitution could be passed.

On December 12, the house held a hearing on a proposed bill to fix Hirst that was proffered by House Democrats, Governor Inslee, and Ecology. You can read that bill and access the TVW hearing on that bill on the CAPR Website: http://proprights.org/blog/governor-inslee-and-ecology-proffered-proposed-bill-december-12

CAPR believes this bill is crafted to complicate water law, grossly expand the Growth Management Act, Ecology Jurisdiction and Policy, and to invite further litigation.  The citizens of Washington deserve better treatment and a better bill!

You can read more about Hirst and Water Rights on the CAPR website, including the most recent posts:

This post is continuously updated:






January 6, 2018